Albany was originally a military outpost named Fredrick Town. On the 7th March, 1831, it was formally proclaimed part of the Swan River Colony. In 1832, the outpost’s name was changed to Albany to honour the son of King George III, Prince Fredrick, the Duke of York and Albany.
Albany Landmarks & Laneways
Our attractions are part of Albany's new Landmarks & Laneways project. Landmarks and Laneways provides a guide to Albany's history and its public artworks in the form of a map, available online and in print.
Founded in 1962, Albany Historical Society is a non-profit organisation, staffed entirely by volunteers. We are dedicated to preserving Albany’s unique history and managing two of Albany’s most historic buildings.